Follow

Creating/managing admin users

Control who has access to your CampSite database by creating and managing admin users. You may also revoke access either temporarily (by locking a user's account) or more permanently (by deleting their account).

Note: Only existing admin users with DB Management admin permission will have the ability to create and manage users as needed. To learn more about this permission setting, click here.

Creating New Users

Creating a new user is a 2-step process:

  1. First, create the user's account.
  2. Then, configure the settings for their account.

To create a new user, go to Admin > DB Management > Users > +Add new user...

First, you'll be asked to set up their account credentials.

Note that the email address provided will be the one they use to login, and also where any CampSite notifications will be sent.

Also, you'll be asked to create the user's password initially. Passwords must be a minimum of 8 characters with at least one uppercase and one lowercase letter, and one number. The user can change this password later via their Profile Settings.

"User templates" are preset permission templates that your camp may have created. If you do not select a template, you must configure the user's permissions manually after creating their account.

If you select to send the user login credentials after creating, CampSite will automatically email the user their login credentials + your admin login link once you click submit.

Next, configure the settings for the new user's account. Note: If you did not apply a User Template when creating the user, you must configure permissions manually. If you do not configure any permissions, the user will not be able to access any CampSite features upon logging in.

Managing the Settings for a User

To access the settings for a user, double click the 3 dots icon to expand icon the settings their account. When you're creating a new user, their settings will expand automatically.

Permissions

Control what the user can see and do within CampSite by managing their permission settings.

By default, a new user will have no permissions (if a user template was not selected when creating the user). Without permissions, the user will not have access to anything upon logging in.

User permissions are grouped by CampSite module.

  1. Click on a module to view and select permissions to grant to this user.
  2. Click "Save Changes for This User" before leaving the page.

For detailed instructions on how to apply user permissions (including what each permission represents), please click here to read our Admin User Permissions article.

Please note: If the user is currently logged in while you make changes to their permissions, they must log out and log back in to see the new permissions take effect.

E-mail Notifications

Configure which email notifications the user receives.

Email notifications are grouped by module.

  1. Click the name of a module to view the associated email notifications.
  2. Select the desired notifications.
  3. Click "Save Changes for This User" before leaving the page.

First Page on Login

Determines which CampSite page the user is directed to immediately after logging in.

  1. Click the dropdown menu and select a page.
  2. Click "Save Changes for This User" before leaving the page.

Change password

Change the user's password.

 

  1. Enter the new password to apply to the user's account. Passwords must include the following:
    • At least 8 characters
    • 1 uppercase and 1 lowercase letter
    • 1 number
  2. Click "Save Changes for This User" before leaving the page.

Note that admin users are able to change their passwords themselves. If an admin user forgot their password, they can reset it by clicking "Forgot password?" on your CampSite database login screen. Or, they can change their password while they're logged into CampSite, via the "My Profile" page.

Edit a User's Name or E-mail Address

Double click a user's current first name, last name, or email address to edit.

The field will become editable. Make your changes and click OK to save.

Revoking a User's Access

To prevent a user from logging into your CampSite database, you may lock the user out of CampSite or delete the user's account.

Locking a user out of CampSite can be used to temporarily revoke the user's access (until you unlock them later), while deleting is used to permanently revoke the user's access.

Locking Out a User

If you need to temporarily prevent a certain user from logging into CampSite (e.g. seasonal employees during the off-season), use CampSite's lock feature to lock them out of your database.

Locked users will not be deleted from your database, but they won't be able to log into CampSite as long as their account is locked.

Find the user and double click the lock icon next to their last name.

Agree to lock the user's account by clicking OK.

The lock icon will turn to yellow when the user is locked out.

Note that locked users will not appear throughout the database when you're prompted to select users to include in a certain action (e.g. persons to BCC on an email; persons to share an advanced report with, etc.)

Unlocking a User

Double click the yellow lock icon to unlock a user.

You'll be asked to confirm, and upon doing so, the user's account will be unlocked. The user will then be able to log into your CampSite database as needed.

Delete a User

When you want to prevent a user from accessing your database permanently, delete the user's account.

Delete a user's account by double clicking the delete button on the right.

When a user is deleted, their account cannot be undeleted the same way you can unlock a locked account. However, if you delete someone by mistake, you may contact CampSite Support and request that we un-delete a user.

Again, deleted users will not appear throughout the database when you're prompted to select users for something (e.g. persons to BCC on an email; persons to share an advanced report with, etc.)

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk